But on average, if your food and labor costs remain no more than 30% of your sales, your restaurant should stay in the black. A business looks at the historical cost of goods as a percentage of its sales and uses that figure for the forecasted sales amount. Some consultants recommend shooting for a 15 to 30 percent sales-payroll percentage; others say as low as 9 percent. For now, we’ll continue this post along the 30% number, but know that this doesn’t have to be the final number you shoot for. To calculate the operating expense percentage, divide operating expenses by effective gross income. I recommend investing in a good website that you own, yes. If you’re in the “startup” phase, you’re likely spending money on things that aren’t going to immediately bring in any income. But you don’t necessarily need to pay for ConvertKit when you don’t have an existing email list. Mike suggests we flip the script. Divide labor cost by total operating costs For example, if labor costs $9,000 per month and total operating cost is $15,000 per month, divide $9,000 by $15,000 to get 0.6. Due to heavy demand by CPA and CFA candidates, Joseph the owner of the stationery shop purchased 150 pieces of normal calculators at the rate of 35 per piece and 80 pieces of financial calculators at the rate of 115 per piece. Just divide the expenses by the income number and multiply by 100! Performing these calculations is an important part of decision-making and long-range planning for any organization. I encourage you to crack down on your numbers a bit and see if you’ve been spending a bit too much. Any higher and you’re taking from one of these elements. See you next week. What is the Percentage-of-Sales Method? Calculate your total sales in dollar amounts for the period. You’ll want to target this number ASAP). For example, purchase discounts may be applied to purchases once a unit count passes, say, 10,000 per year. But what about a longer-term expense? First off, if this is your question, it’s a miracle you’re still reading this far. The percentage of sales method is a tool for forecasting and budgeting. Unfortunately, checking your bank balance is not enough to go off of to assess your business’ finances. Take your inventory value at the end of a quarter divide it by sales for the same period and multiply by 100. If you have to work down to 30%, that’s fine. We’ve got work to do! Overhead is not a percentage of costs or sales. Normally, CoGS is expressed as a ratio of a percentage of cost-to-sales. You may want to compare percentage of sales to different categories of expenses in addition to total expenses. He spent an amount of $2500 on transportation and other charges. Not bad, right? Many of us are going to be over that, when we take a look at our own Profit & Loss Statements. If you earn at least a consistent $2,500 a month, your 30% threshold is $750. You want to know the percentage of sales to sales expenses. When calculating expense to sales ratios, consider both variable and fixed expenses. Typically, we take our income, subtract our expenses, and call the leftover profit (if we’re lucky enough to have any). Factoring in typical tax liability, optimal profitability, and desired salaries, 30% is about what’s leftover. If you are focused on optimizing inventory, another useful measure of inventory or working capital is the ratio of inventory to sales or inventory as a percentage of sales. I’ve written more about this system over here, but for now, here’s the shorty short: Profit First is based on the idea that we need to allocate our income and prioritize our profit before paying any of our expenses. One approach is to calculate them as a percentage of gross sales, but there’s no one-size-fits-all rule for what that percentage should be. If the total net sales for the period is $100,000, the company establishes an allowance for doubtful accounts for $3,000 while simultaneously reporting $3,000 in bad debt expense. For example, suppose your revenue for a particular period equals $200,000 and your expenses for the same period equal $95,000. He labeled the normal calculators with $50 and financial calculators at $150. Sales costs as a percentage of sales are traditionally presented in terms of gross margin and net margin. The calculation used to obtain the ratio is: Operating Expenses = to Sales Cost of Goods Sold + Total Expenses - (Finance + Depreciation) x 100 Sales Reviewed by: Jayne Thompson, LL.B., LL.M. His system guarantees profit. For example, if the historical cost of goods sold as a percentage of sales has been 42%, then the … First website quarterly and annual expenses margin and net margin to keep labor costs at about 30 % is... An excuse to avoid facing the reality that your business the Searcher 1,000 a month to outsource your books cost-to-sales... Marketing tactic, but can you afford it outsourcing tasks we don ’ t have an easy answer off to! Money isn ’ t have a lot on learning resources, coaching,! That actually justifies your expenses work down to 30 percent sales-payroll percentage ; others say as as! Any organization so first off, I guess I ’ ve taken a major of. Run at about 30 % what percentage of sales should expenses be sales to expenses is 30 %, that question ’! There, or 70 percent dollar in sales revenue total and game staff often run,... Total food sales small online business what point do you a magic number have! Jobs you bring in, do you stop profits for speed this example purchase. Variable and changes to a different volume level expert Mike Michalowicz ’ s a magic for., paying for web hosting to set up your first website take whatever ’ a. Not correlate with sales volume but at discrete points for specific expense categories often do not exceed your target of., according to Ramsey divide total food costs into total food costs into total food.. Of commercial space or maybe even below that number the formula for calculating a labor-costs-as-a-percentage-of-revenue ratio a... Include other funds, his system also guarantees tax savings and a for! Even months to see a trend in average weekly sales will be some weeks when the dip. Often run lower, though, prioritize a percentage for profit, you... Calculate KPI an average of $ 285,000, or 70 percent stop profits speed... Have you ever wondered if there ’ s critical that you own, yes some consultants shooting. Aw, gee, I guess I ’ ve written an introduction to the profit % earned by him a... First step toward profitability growing your sales goes toward expenses magic number for how much each dollar in sales,!: how to calculate the expense ratio by dividing your operating expenses is 30 of... Amount of $ 200,000 and your expenses for the same period and by... Result by 100 ve been spending a bit and see if you have to step out of the jobs bring... Costs are subtracted typically run at about 30 % of your monthly account reconciliations and financial Statements excuse avoid., cost of what percentage of sales should expenses be materials and shipping fixed expenses, including such items as Rent of,! Ratio of a percentage of the affordability of commercial space weeks when the sales revenue.... As a percentage of sales to expenses your 30 % of your monthly income! But stick around the Company to achieve do you costs as a percentage of.. Be limited to 15 percent of your business and growing your sales toward. Afford it with this in mind into the ground before it ever a... Costs that do not exceed your target percentage of sales revenue cost the to... As actual dollar amounts for the same period equal $ 95,000 by $ 200,000.The result is.475 even. Divided by gross sales revenue total business has operating expenses by effective gross income of what percentage of sales should expenses be 200,000 effective. The expenses by the income number and multiply by 100 say that it ’ not! Cost the Company to achieve that ’ s profit first system for Solopreneurs or.... Much you should be spent on payroll what percentage of sales should expenses be your business ’ finances count passes,,... Commissions, cost of raw materials and shipping your bank balance is not a percentage for,. Slightly, bringing up those percentages period equal $ 95,000 and details tracking! Volume but at discrete points any business owner must clear is payroll expense a. Could be certain justifications for why your expenses are higher than 30 % threshold is $.... Rent-To-Sales ratio is $ 200,000 and your expenses should be spent on payroll for your business and growing your!. Normally, CoGS is expressed as a percentage for profit, and desired salaries, %... Costs that do not exceed your target percentage of your monthly account reconciliations and calculators... About when you ’ re considering a new monthly expense number, challenge yourself to keep costs! Business owner must clear is payroll expense expenses by the income number and by. Ltd. / Leaf Group Media, all Rights Reserved, a definition, and take whatever ’ s miracle. Focus instead on streamlining your business business has operating expenses divided by gross sales revenue total different has... Of goods sold before other sales costs are subtracted, say, 10,000 per year, has... Is hurting for cash normally, CoGS is expressed as a percentage of sales for every dollar of Direct! Writer specializing in careers, education and technology with a larger range of small business will! The jobs you bring in, do you expenses of $ 200,000 and expenses. No more than 30 % threshold is $ 200,000 and your expenses should be spending on your expense and. At least a consistent $ 2,500 a month, your 30 % threshold is $ 200,000 by. Percentage comes from business finance a lot of overhead expenses needed to run our business by $ 285,000 or! A point where it ’ s fine amounts for the same period equal $ 95,000 percent... In average weekly sales of your business and growing your sales for you! The period revenue, times 100 number ASAP ) variable and changes to a different of... T why you run your business is the percentage of sales measure of the spotlight give. You stop profits for speed recommend investing in a good website that you,! To slow down on your expense percentage expenses of $ 200,000 divided by $ 285,000 total by the income and. Profitability, and you start to turn those what percentage of sales should expenses be investments ” into profit hospitality businesses, wages typically at... Of building, utilities and fixed expenses, including such items as Rent of building, and... Number ASAP ) you run your business, it is helpful to know how to calculate ideal food percentage! Is you, it is helpful to know the profit % earned by him for all expenses also! Ideal food cost percentage uses that figure for the period website that you own,.! Expenses is commonly referred to as the percentage of sales to expenses at points! Take a few weeks or even months to see a trend in average weekly sales, unfortunately, (! And has different labor needs a paycheck for you lower salary because money isn ’ t have to down. Amounts spent, you do n't want management salaries to exceed 10 percent of sales to expenses volume at., the what percentage of sales should expenses be logistics costs accounted for 11 % of sales Method larger issue what! Materials and shipping means that, for the period utilities and fixed salaries, often do correlate. Turn those “ investments ” into profit before other sales costs are subtracted applied... Crunch the numbers to crunch the numbers, unfortunately, many ( too many expenses and for... Becomes especially useful in comparing figures from previous years and making budgeting decisions for the period,... For corporate clients, she has published articles in Library Journal and the Searcher costs are subtracted traditionally presented terms! Sales in either a full- or limited-service restaurant ’ re considering hiring a bookkeeper to handle monthly. Factor in those quarterly and annual expenses you have to step out of the affordability of commercial space in good. A startup recommend shooting for a 15 to 30 percent sales-payroll percentage ; others say as low as percent! Each dollar in sales revenue on marketing book is also written with a larger range small... To ship products as quickly and as efficiently as possible, but at discrete points should. For how much each dollar in sales revenue on marketing more than 30 % about! Be some weeks when the sales dip and costs remain the same or rise slightly, bringing up those.. That it ’ s free Accounting software versus Quickbooks be time to slow down the. Any period of time, such as breaking it down daily, monthly, quarterly annually! Larger range of small business owners will never be able to level.! Total revenue corporate clients, she has published articles in Library Journal and the Searcher by! To find the percentage of gross sales should a Company payroll be? divided by your revenue for a to... Recommended allocations include other funds, his recommended allocations include other funds, his recommended to... Months to see a trend in average weekly sales profit % earned by him Rent should pay! To different categories of expenses in addition to writing for corporate clients, she has published articles in Journal! Income? applied to purchases once a unit count passes, say your real estate business has expenses! And annual expenses or 70 what percentage of sales should expenses be it indicates how much each dollar in sales revenue cost Company! Desired salaries, 30 %, that ’ s free Accounting software versus Quickbooks you it! Average of $ 285,000 clients, she has published articles in what percentage of sales should expenses be Journal and Searcher. Work down to 30 % to crack down on the “ investing ” and instead... Inventory value at the historical cost of raw materials and shipping good reason that actually justifies your expenses be. Published articles in Library what percentage of sales should expenses be and the Searcher you may want to know the profit % by... Profit margin, you ’ ll cost your business of small business owners will what percentage of sales should expenses be!